Library Board of Trustees

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Board Information

The library is a semi-autonomous administrative agency of the City of Ankeny. There are seven Trustees, appointed by the Mayor and City Council, who set library policy. The Trustees employ a Director and staff who are responsible for the library's day-to-day operation. The policies adopted by the Board of Trustees are available to the public. The Board reviews each policy on a yearly basis.

Board/Commission Library Board
City Code Chapter 21
Established 1959
Term 6 years
Number of Members Seven (7)
Special Requirements None

City Staff

Sam Mitchel
Director of Library Services
1210 NW Prairie Ridge Drive
Ankeny, IA 50023
(515) 965-6461

Jennifer Sease
Administrative Services Director
410 W 1st St
Ankeny, IA 50023
(515) 965-6409


The Library Board of Trustees meets the third Thursday of the month at 6:30 p.m. at the Kirkendall Public Library, 1210 NW Prairie Ridge Drive. The public is welcome to attend.

Election Day

  • Date: 11/03/2015 7:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.  

Ankeny residents are encouraged to find their polling location and vote in the City Council election.

You may also contact the Polk County Auditor, Jamie Fitzgerald, at 515-286-3247 to find out where the polling place for your precinct will be and when the list of precinct polling places and sample ballots will be printed.

Register To Vote

To determine if you are already registered to vote, please visit the Iowa Secretary of State's web site.

If you are not registered to vote, download and complete the Official Iowa Voter Registration Form. Polk County residents should mail completed form to the county auditor's office at 120 2nd Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50309.

Ankeny residents can also register to vote at the Kirkendall Public Library, 1210 NW Prairie Ridge Dr. Monday - Thursday, 9am to 9 pm, Friday and Saturday, 9am to 5pm and Sunday 2 to 5pm.

Polling will be open from 7am to 8pm.

To vote absentee, download and complete the Official Absentee Ballot Request Form. Polk County residents should mail completed form to the county auditor's office: 120 2nd Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309

Return to full list >>