All City of Ankeny buildings are closed to the public in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

All residents, contractors and others are encouraged to do business with the City via phone, email or this website. Find contact information now.

These operational changes  are reflective of the suggested guidelines provided by the Centers for Disease Control and the Iowa Department of Public Health. The City is committed to protecting its employees and citizens during this pandemic. View additional information on the City of Ankeny response and updates at

    Economic Development Council

    Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

    Board Information

    The Economic Development Council is comprised of eleven members appointed by the Mayor. The Council members represent various economic development perspectives. The Council provides input and expertise to assist the Economic Development Department staff in carrying out the Economic Development Action Plan. The Economic Development Council was established by Ordinance 1681 in October 2010.

    Board/Commission Economic Development Council
    City Code Chapter 30
    Established 2010
    Term 3 years
    Number of Members Eleven (11)
    Special Requirements None

    City Staff

    Derek Lord
    Director of Economic Development
    410 West First Street
    Ankeny, IA 50023
    (515) 965-6430


    The Council members meet year round, every other month. Generally these meetings are held on the first Friday of the month from 7 a.m. until 8 a.m. at City Hall.