Plan and Zoning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Board Information

The Plan and Zoning Commission is comprised of seven members appointed by the Mayor and empowered through Chapter 22 of the Municipal Code.

The general duties of the Commission are to make or have surveys made, studies, maps, plans or charts of the whole or any portion of the municipality and any land outside that, in the opinion of the Commission, bears relation to a comprehensive plan.

The Commission may recommend amendments, supplements, changes and modifications to the zoning ordinance before the City Council.

Board/Commission  Plan & Zoning Commission
City Code Chapter 22
Term 4 years
Number of Members Seven (7)
Special Requirements None

City Staff

Eric Jensen
Director of Community Development
220 West First St.
Ankeny, IA 50023

Brenda Fuglsang
Recording Secretary
220 W First St.
Ankeny, IA  50023



Meetings of the Plan and Zoning Commission are held in the City Council Chambers, 1250 SW District Drive, at 6:30 p.m. on the first and third Tuesday of each month, following the Monday evening City Council meetings.

All Plan and Zoning Commission meetings are open to the public. Meeting agendas are posted on the Friday prior to every meeting. Citizen participation is welcomed at the meetings and opportunities are provided for citizens to address the Commission.


07/21/2020 6:30 p.m. Not Included
08/04/2020 6:30 p.m. Not Included
08/18/2020 6:30 p.m. Not Included
09/08/2020 6:30 p.m. Not Included
09/22/2020 6:30 p.m. Not Included
10/06/2020 6:30 p.m. Not Included
10/20/2020 6:30 p.m. Not Included
11/03/2020 6:30 p.m. Not Included
11/17/2020 6:30 p.m. Not Included
12/08/2020 6:30 p.m. Not Included
12/22/2020 6:30 p.m. Not Included
01/05/2021 6:30 p.m. Not Included
01/19/2021 6:30 p.m. Not Included